Through The Looking Glass

10 Aug

“So am I. But I want to be confused with you”

Outside the realm of love

 Flashbacks from the past start overshadowing the present imagery in front of my sight. Presently as of last weekend, in front of my sights are different signs of love:Alice’s parents chauffeuring us around for meals and ingredients for Alice’s diet plan; Alice sitting down in her garden with her grandmother like British simpletons; Alice’s 7-year-old sister amusing herself with two beans bags and a mattress; Alice’s second sister allowing me to peep and catch a glimpse of her soul.

Instantaneously, I was extracted out of that present state by a force. A force unseen, a force not evil nor forceful, but a force nevertheless which diverts me back to a scene in How I Met Your Mother.

I stood there, but no longer a participation of that gathering. I was what people would say a third person. A sense of familiarity sank in and I realize my road has finally converged with that of the legen-wait for it-dary Barney Stinson. Like him, I stood there outside the realm of love created by an unseen bond. I was Barney Stinson standing in front that door, looking into the cafe, envisioning the future he would one day want to have. I was the little child looking through the candy store window. I developed a yearning.

Outside a sanctuary

The looking glass is a wonderful invention. An angle of perspective. Sometimes a separator. A display of event and incident. The window is just a magnified looking glass. As I stood still in many moments during that day, I became  boy filled with fear, a boy who finds courage in being pretentious.A taste of being outside the realm of love certainly is intriguing and lasting. As of  Alice and I, the realm we are in are still in it’s preliminary stages of foundational building. But I can safely say we’ve built our own circle of love.

Sincerely,
Noah

Leave a comment